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Utah Sentencing Commission

Sponsor uscC Description Penalty "?:(’;'r’liagid Anticipated | Anticipated

Positi Changes Fees Prison Fiscal
on Admissions Impact

Decreases the age difference for which sexual conduct
with a minor is an offense from 10 years to 7 years.

If there is more than 7 years but no more than 10 years
age difference between the victim and the offender, the
HB 10 Sex Offense Rep. N/P offender is required to have known or acted under

S01 Amendments Greenwood circumstances where they should have known the age
of the victim.

2 $61,400

If the offender is more than 10 years older than the
victim, the statute specifies that mistake as to the age of
the victim is not a defense.

Provides that as of July 2014, smoking in a vehicle
with a passenger under the age of 15 years old is an
infraction. The person may only be cited as a New
secondary offense. If the person has not previously infraction
been cited for this offense, and enrolls in a smoking
cessation class, the court may waive the fine.

Protection of Children
HB 13 Riding in Motor Rep. Arent N/P
Vehicles

$45 fine $1,600

Election Code Standardizes penalties throughout the election code.

HB 19 Criminal Provisions Rep. Grover | SUP
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HB 26

Inmate Medial
Donation Act

Rep. Eliason

N/P

Requires the Utah Department of Corrections to
provide a document of gift form at an inmate’s request,
indicating an inmate’s desire to make an anatomical
gift if the inmate dies while in the custody of the
Department.

HB 27

Threat of Terrorism
Amendments

Rep.
Hutchings

SUP

Specifies that threatening to commit an act of terrorism
with the intent to cause action by an official, volunteer,
or any emergency agency is a class B misdemeanor.
This same penalty previously applied to this offense
before the legislature last amended this statute. At that
time, penalty was inadvertently left out.

HB 28
S01

Campus Safety
Amendments

Rep. Ipson

N/P

Provides that a chief administrative officer may order a
person to leave property that is owned, operated, or
controlled by an institution of higher education if the
person is reckless as to whether the person’s actions
will cause fear for the safety of another.

HB 31

Enticing a Minor
Amendments

Rep. Webb

N/P

Amends the definition of “text messaging” to include
any electronic communication from a telephone,
computer or other electronic communication device to
another such device.

Amends the reference to “attempt” so that the statute
refers to an attempt to solicit, and not an attempt to use
an electronic device.

Removes the language referring to “with the intent to
commit” a specific offense from the section that
determines the level of the offense.

HB 33

Expungement Process
Amendments

Rep.
Hutchings

SUP

Amends the expungement statute to allow for the
expungement of up to 3 felony drug offenses, or 5 total
drug offenses, in addition to the current expungement
limits.

The bill also provides a definition for “pardon” and
clarifies that an offense that is pardoned, is also
expunged.

HB 41

Campaign Filing by
Media Owner

Rep. Powell

SUP

Repeals the requirement for a media owner to file a
statement when a newspaper or periodical intends to
print information that may influence an election.
Repeals the class B misdemeanor penalty.

Repeals class
B
misdemeanor
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Dating Violence

Creates a process by which a victim of dating violence
as part of a dating relationship can obtain a protective
order. The order remains in effect for 180 days.

New class B

HB 50 Protective Order Act Rep. Seelig N/P misdemeanor $151,600
A violation of the protective order is a class B
misdemeanor.
Controlled Substances Adds 37 new chemical formulations of “spice” and
HB 52 - Rep. Ray SUP | “bath salts” to the list of unscheduled controlled
Revisions
substances.
Felon’s Riaht to Hold Rep. Prohibits a sex offender, as defined in 76-1-60, from
HB 64 g Spackman N/P holding office with either the State Board of Education
Office
Moss or a local school board.
Increases the penalty for Attempted Aggravated
murder that results in serious bodily injury from a
HB 87 Attempted Aggravated Rep. Perry SUP | penalty of 5 years to life to 15 years to life. Allows the New 15_years
Murder Amendments - to Life
court to order a sentence of 10 years to life, or 6 years
to life, if the interests of justice so require.
Requires law enforcement to note if an accident
HB 93 Traffic Violations Re resulted in death or serious bodily injury on the
s01 Amendments Peterzlon SUP | citation. Additionally, provides that the court may not
accept a plea of guilty or no contest to such charges
without the consent of the prosecutor.
New class A
HB 102 Arson Penalties Increases the penalty for Arson by one degree for a m's,\?:v”v‘%?yor
Rep. Wiley SUP | second or subsequent offense committed within 10 $1,500
S01 Amendments degree felony
years. nd
New 2
degree felony
Prohibits a person younger than 18 years of age from
. using a wireless telephone while driving. Provides that
HB 103 Wireless Te_Ier_Jhone Rep. Perry SUP | aviolation is an infraction with an associated fine of . Nevv_ Nev_v $25
Use Restrictions - - . infraction fine
$25. Makes exceptions for reporting emergencies, or
speaking with parents.
Amends the Serious Youth Offender Statute to insert
Serious Youth some discretion into the statute to allow the court to
HB 105 Rep. Snow PRI consider the number and nature of the minor’s prior $206,800

Offender Amendments

adjudications and other public safety issues to decide
whether it is in the best interest of the both the minor
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and the public to retain the juvenile in juvenile court, or
transfer them to the district court.

Increases the penalty from a class C misdemeanor to a
class A misdemeanor for a repeat violation of
regulations by a seller of regulated metals.

2 New Class
Metal Theft
HB 108 Amendments Rep. Draxler | - N/P Increases the penalty from a class B misdemeanor to a misderﬁ\eanors
class A misdemeanor for a repeat violation of
providing false information by a seller or regulated
metals.
HB 116 Swdgﬁg?\';g;ijcﬁrreﬁ Rep. SUP Specifies that removing, disturbing, or tampering with New class B
Amendments Cunningham an AED is a class B misdemeanor. misdemeanor
Provides that it is a defense to unlawful body piercing
Requlation of Tattoo Re or tattooing of a minor, if the person makes and retains
HB 117 g Industr Stang}d N/P | a photocopy of presumptively valid driver license or
y other government-issued picture identification that
states that the minor is 18 years or older.
HB 119 Fire Prevention Rep. Seelig N/P | Standardizes the penalty for a violation of this section.
Amendments
. . Allows a person under the age of 19 to petition to the
Driver License - s
: court for a reinstatement of a suspended driver’s
HB 128 Suspension Rep. Sagers SUP . -
LS license after 6 months if they have completed all of the
Modifications -
requirements.
Prohibits a person convicted of a sexual offense under
. Title 76, Chapter 5, part 4 of the Utah Code, with the
Parent-time . g . .
HB 152 Restriction Rep. Hall B/S exception of unlawful sexual activity with a minor or
So1 Amendments - unlawful sexual contact with a 16 or 17 year old, from
petitioning for or being granted custody or parent time,
unless the victim-parent consents to the order.
Federal Law Adds the “exercise of law enforcement authority” as New class B
HB 155 Enforcement HB 155 OPP | defined to the list of conduct that constitutes misdemeanor
Amendments impersonation of an officer.
Removes the statute of limitations regarding the Reduced 1%
prosecution of human trafficking and human degree felc?ny
S smuggling offenses as well as aggravated exploitation toa2"
HB 163 Hux;r;r;l'drgglnilgmg Rep. Seelig | HOLD | of prostitution. degree felony
2 new 1%
Provides that lack of knowledge of the age of the degree 15 to
victim is not a defense to a charge of aggravated life
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human trafficking or aggravated human smuggling.

Defines “child” as a person younger than 18 years of
age for purposes of human trafficking, smuggling, and
prostitution offenses.

Amends the penalty for Aggravated human smuggling
from a 1% degree to a 2™ degree felony. And elevates
the penalty for Aggravated exploitation of prostitution
involving a “child” to a 1% degree felony, and the
penalties for sexual solicitation involving a “child” and
patronizing a prostitute involving a “child” from class
B misdemeanors to 3" degree felonies.

Allows for communication interception orders for
human trafficking and human smuggling offenses.

Allows the court to order a pretrial protective order in
cases involving kidnapping, human trafficking, human
smuggling, sexual offense, or aggravated exploitation
of prostitution, and states that the penalty for a
violation of this order is a 3" degree felony.

new 1% degree
felony
new 2™
degree felony
3 new 3"
degree
felonies

Deoxyribonucleic Acid
Collection and

Adds a list of new felonies to the list of crimes for

HB 170 . Rep. Eliason | HOLD | which the state collects DNA from an offender at the
Retention : :
time of booking.
Amendments
Clarifies that it is a class A misdemeanor for a county
County Clerk . . . o
HB 192 Misconduct Penalt Rep. Layton | SUP | clerk to issue a marriage license for a prohibited
Y marriage. Removes specific sentencing provisions.
Amends the statute related to compensation awarded to
HB 226 Beneflts While a Rep. Wilson | SUP victims of crime to clarify that a person is ellgl_ble for
Prisoner medical expense imbursement for injuries received
while incarcerated.
Provides clarification to the Identity Fraud statute so
Criminal Identity that the provisions apply if the person uses the
HB 229 Fraud Amendments Rep. Oda SUP identifying information of another, whether they
received it or created the information.
L Standardizes the penalty for bid rigging and price
HB 232 |  Criminal Penalty Rep. Hall | sup | fixing.

Amendments
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Corporate Franchise
and Income Tax Fine

Standardizes the penalty for doing business after a

HB 234 and Penalty Rep. Greene | SUP business license has been revoked.
Amendments
Prohibits a person who has been convicted of a felony
HB 235 Process Server sex (_)ffense or is subjegt to a protective grder_ from
Rep. Perry | HOLD | serving process. Requires that, if there is a likely or
S01 Amendments S
imminent breach of the peace, the process must be
served by a law enforcement officer.
Re Clarifies that the penalty for providing false
HB 237 | Surety Bond Penalty P- SUP | information related to a surety bond affidavit is a 3"
Greenwood
degree felony.
Makes changes to the requirements for a cosmetology
Cosmetoloay and Hair Re license, and makes it a class A misdemeanor to fail to New class A
HB 238 Bra%lin DunnFi)éan HOLD | inform students in a class that completion of that class misdemeanor
g alone will not complete licensure requirements and that
licensure is necessary.
. Prohibits an individual from receiving a summons for a ($11,300)
HB 239 Jury Service : : . . Not attributed to
Rep. Hall OPP | trial or grand jury service more than one in a two-year :
S02 Amendments . iod increased
time period. penalties
Fixes a technical error in the statute created last year
Offender Reqistr that allows an offender convicted of unlawful sexual
HB 243 Registry Rep. Draxler | SUP | activity with a minor or unlawful sexual conduct with a
Review .
16 or 17 year old to petition the court for removal from
the sex and kidnap offender registry.
Prevents a person with a prior felony conviction or a
conviction for a misdemeanor involving moral
turpitude within the last 10 years from being a
_ parti_ci_pant i_n a te_lephone so_lic!ta_tion bu_siness. ($491,000)
HB 245 | Consumer Protection Rep. Brown N/P Participant is defined as an individual with a Not attributed to
S01 Amendments ' controlling interest or an owner, director, member, increased
principal, trustee, ect. penalties
Specifies that each violation of the statute is a separate
violation.
Adds the lascivious exhibition of the “buttocks, or
. female breast” to the images that can constitute nd
HB 282 Sexual Exploitation Rep. N/P | sexually explicit conduct under the Sexual Exploitation New 2
Amendments Greenwood degree felony

Act.
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Electronic Proof of

Provides that a person may provide evidence of
owner’s or operator’s security to a peace officer in a
hard copy format or in an electronic format using a
mobile electronic device.

New class B

HB 295 | Owner’s or Operator’s | Rep. Brown N/P . . . .
g Provides that a peace officer may not view any other misdemeanor
Security . . . . Lo
information on the mobile device when viewing the
owner’s or operator’s security. Itisa class B
misdemeanor for an officer to view other information
on the mobile device intentionally.
Protection of Makes it a class A misdemeanor for a person to
Hgo?’lﬂ Concealed Firearm Aan:E)é OPP | unlawfully and knowingly disclose information related ggﬁ;::;g
Permit Information 99 to possession of a concealed weapons permit.
Authorizes the Driver License Division to issues a
Temporar Re temporary regular identification card while the person
HB 320 Identificgtion éard HutchF;ﬁ s SUP | obtains the required documentation to establish the
g verification of information necessary to obtain a
regular identification card or driver’s license.
Doubles the fines for littering and failing to secure a
load. Increases the fine from $100 to $200 for first
L L . - 2 New
violation of littering on a highway or failure to secure a $200 fines
Highway Littering and load and from $250 to $500 for a second or subsequent
HB 328 - Rep. L - . : 2 new $500
Failing to Secure a N/P | violation within three years. And increases the fine for .
S01 Greenwood . . fines
Load Amendments a failure to secure a load by a person operating a New $1000
commercial vehicle from $250 to $500 for a first fine
violation and from $500 to $1000 for a second or
subsequent violation within three years.
HB 333 State Lands Rep. N/P Amends provisions related to penalties for the use of
S01 Amendments Menlove vehicles on state lands surrounding Bear Lake.
Prohibits county sheriffs from providing a copy of a New
HB 408 Criminal Suspect Rep. Ray SUP booking photograph to a person if the photograph will Class B

Photographs

be placed in a publication or posted on a website that
requires a payment in order to remove the photograph.

misdemeanor
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Increased

Bill # Title Sponsor usc Description Penalty Fine or Anticipated | Anticipated
Position Changes Fees Prison Fiscal
Admissions Impact
Provides that the Driver License Division may clear the
suspension for an ignition interlock violation if the
Amendments to P . i
SB 13 Ignition Interlock Sen. suP Division el.ectronlgally vgrlfles that the’ person .does not
Program Thatcher have a vehicle registered in the person’s name in the
state of Utah, rather than a vehicle registered in any
state.
Makes it unlawful conduct for an unincorporated entity
to have an individual who is an owner of the
unincorporated entity engage in a construction trade
while using a Social Security number that does not
belong to the individual.
SB 44 Construction Trades Sen. N/P 2 New class A
S02 Licensing Revisions Mayne Makes it unlawful for an unincorporated entity that misdemeanors
provides labor to a licensed entity to provide an
individual who is an owner of the unincorporated entity
to engage in a construction trade while the individual is
using a Social Security number that does not belong to
the individual.
Election Code- Makes it a class B misdemeanor to fail to file or amend
SB 65 Financial Reporting Sen. N/P an interim report within 14 days after the day on which New class B
S03 Requirement Valentine an officeholder receives notice from the lieutenant misdemeanor
Amendments governor that they need to do so.
. . Adds a material containing an infectious agent and rd
SB 97 Propglljl;)r;%a?](iodlly Sen. J. SUP vomit to the list _of substgnces, that_if propel_led ata 2 dneeg\jlxei
Stevenson peace or correctional officer, constitute a third degree .
Amendments felony. felonies
Creates the class B misdemeanor offense of propelling
a bodily substance at another. Specifies that the New class B
SB 98 Propelling a Bodily Sen. J. N/P penalty is a class A misdemeanor if the person knows misdemeanor
Substance Revisions | Stevenson they are infected with HIV, hepatitis, or hepatitis C, or New class A

if the substance comes into contact with any portion of
the other person’s face or any open wound.

misdemeanor
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SB 104
S02

Vulnerable Users of
Highways
Amendments

Sen.
Weiler

N/P

States that it is a class C misdemeanor for a driver to
operate a motor vehicle within three feet of a
vulnerable user of a highway and provides that a driver
may not knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly,
distract or attempt to distract a vulnerable user of a
highway for the purpose of causing violence or injury.
Also provides that a driver may not force or attempt to
force a vulnerable user of a highway off of the roadway
for a purpose unrelated to public safety. A violation
that results in injury to the vulnerable user of a
highway is a class B misdemeanor.

Defines “Vulnerable user of a highway.”

New class C
misdemeanor
New Class B
misdemeanor

SB 105

Board of Pardons and
Parole Revisions

Sen.
Thatcher

S/IC

Clarifies language relating to influencing or retaliating
against a judge or a family member of a judge or a
Board of Pardons member or a family member of a
Board of Pardons member.

Removes the attempted murder of a judge or a Board
of Pardons member from this statute so that it avoids a
conflict with attempted aggravated murder.

SB 119

Youth Court
Amendments

Sen. J.
Stevenson

S/C

Requires that a youth court be certified.

Allows the proceeding of youth courts to be shared
with the referring agency, victim, and the juvenile
court if the youth was not successful in youth court.

Expands the membership of the Youth Court Board to
include the president of the Utah Youth Court
Association and the Executive Direction of the
Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice.

SB 123

Runaway Vehicle
Ramp Requirements

Sen. Van
Tassell

N/P

Makes it a class C misdemeanor for a person to use a
runaway vehicle ramp unless the person is in an
emergency situation requiring the use of the ramp to
stop the person’s vehicle.

New class C
misdemeanor

SB 129

Office of State Debt
Collection-
Administrative
Garnishment Order

Sen.
Hillyard

SUP

Authorizes the Office of State Debt Collection to issue
an administrative garnishment order for a wage claim
debt or criminal restitution debt.
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Extends the enhancement for assault against a peace
officer or military service member in uniform to
assaults involving serious or substantial bodily injury.

rd
Sen Makes it a 3" degree felony to assault a peace officer de ,\llfg\évleon
SB 131 | Assault Amendments ' SUP or military member when substantial bodily injury is Y nd y $36,000
Osmond . nd New 2
caused. Makes it a 2™ degree felony to assault a peace
. i degree felony
officer or military member when a dangerous weapon
or other means or force likely to produce death or
serious bodily injury is used.
Motor Vehicle Pro_hlblts a local h!ghway authority fror_n enacting an
Registration Sen ordmgqce, regulatl_on, r_ule, ffee, or criminal or CIV_I| fine
SB 137 Enforcement Thatcﬁer N/P pertaining to a registration violation or a registration
Amendments decal that conflicts with or is more stringent that the
requirements of state code.
- Repeals the provisions prohibiting blacklisting of a Repeals
Repeal of Blacklisting Sen. rd
SB 142 Provisions Thatcher SUP former employee. 3'" degree
felony
States that an offender must participate in no fewer
. than 240 hours of home confinement with electronic
Driving Under The o S - .
Sen. monitoring if the required jail sentence is waived for a
SB 146 Influence . N/P -
Jenkins first or second DUI offense or 1,500 hours for a felony
Amendments
offense.
, Removes the class C misdemeanor penalties for an
Workers employer who refuses or neglects to make a required Repeals 4
SB 147 Compensation and sen. SUP report, and instead makes them subject to a civil class C
S01 Occupational Safety Mayne .
assessment. misdemeanors
Related Amendments
Patronizing a Increases the penalty for a second or subsequent
SB 160 Prostitute Sti\iZﬁi(.)n N/P conviction for patronizing a prostitute from a class B to rr,:lii\éveﬂisasnﬁr
Amendments a class A misdemeanor.
Provides for a restitution order to be paid from income
tax overpayment funds.
Restitution Sen. R.equw.es a defenQant ina grlmlnal case to comple.te a New class B
SB 161 SUP financial declaration form in a case where restitution is -
Amendments Bramble misdemeanor

likely to be ordered.

Makes it a class B misdemeanor to make a false
statement in a financial declaration form.

10
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SB 170

Identity Fraud
Amendments

Sen.
Thatcher

SUP

Adds “photograph or realistic likeness” to the list of
personal identifying information that a person may use
to commit identify fraud.

New 3"
degree felony
New 2™
degree felony

SB 190
S03

Procurement
Revisions

Sen.
Jenkins

HOLD

Revisits the procurement amendment statute enacted in
2012, makes some additional changes, and delays the
effective date until 2014. While the bill includes many
new criminal penalties, they were part of the 2012
legislation, which also had a delayed effective date.

SB 191
S01

Administrative Law
Judge Amendments

Sen.
Harper

N/P

Clarifies that an administrative law judge who destroys
evidence submitted to that judge is subject to the
penalties in 76-8-510.5, tampering with evidence.

($109,000)
Not attributed to
increased
penalties

SB 196
S03

License Plate Reader
Amendments

Sen.
Weiler

N/P

States that automatic license plate readers may not be
used, except by law enforcement for protecting the
public and conducting criminal investigations and
ensuring compliance with the law, or by a private or
governmental entity for enforcing parking, or
protecting secured areas. Sets out time limits for the
retention of records obtained, and allows a
governmental entity or defendant in a criminal case to
obtain a court order to preserve the record.

Makes it a class B misdemeanor to violate the
requirements.

New class B
misdemeanor

SB 204
S01

Judiciary
Amendments

Sen.
Hillyard

SUP

The bill prohibits a magistrate from conducting an
initial appearance in a felony case.

Additionally, the bill separates driving without
registration or certificate of title into separate sections:
one for class C and one for class B violations.

SB 228

Penalties for Specified
Juvenile Offenses

Sen.
Shiozawa

PRI

Amends Utah statutes related to aggravated murder and
various sex and kidnap offense to conform with recent
U.S. Supreme Court decisions.

Clarifies that a juvenile convicted of aggravated
murder as an adult may not be sentenced to death and
may only receive a sentence of life without parole if it
is not a mandatory sentence. Further, it amends
statutes with a life without parole sentence to recognize
that an alternative penalty applies if the defendant is a
juvenile at the time the offense is committed.

Removes life
without
parole for
non-death
cases, and the
death penalty
for crimes
committed by
juveniles
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Request For

Provides that if a person is unlawfully intoxicated or
provides alcohol to a minor, and the person seeks

SB 233 Emerger)cy Medical Sen. SUP emergency assistance for a third party due to that
Assistance Bramble ; - .
party’s consumption of alcohol, they may not be cited
Amendments
or arrested by law enforcement.
Makes it a class A misdemeanor to knowingly or
. - New class A
Salvage and intentionally conceal, remove, destroy, or alter a -
SB 249 - . Sen. . o : . misdemeanor
Nonrepairable Vehicle N/P discloser statement or a certificate of title and makes it rd
S01 Urquhart rd - . New 3
Amendments a 3" degree felony for a third or subsequent violation
degree felony
of the same conduct.
Adds all forms of tramadol to the list of Schedule V New class B
SB 270 Controlled Substance Sen. SUP controlled substances and adds new “spice” and “bath misdemeanor
Amendments Vickers salt” analogs to the list of unscheduled controlled New 3"

substances.

degree felony
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New New New New New New New Anticipated Anticipated
1% Degree 2" 3" Degree Class A Class B Class C Infractions | Fines Prison Fiscal Impact?
Felonies Degree Felonies | Misdemeanors | Misdemeanors Misdemeanors or Admissions
Felonies Fees per year
3
2 new 15 to life 6 10 new 10 11 new 2 new 2 6 3 $458,900
1L nereased 1 repealed 1 repealed 4 repealed

1 reduced to 2"

$1,780,400

10 4 2 11 1 7.3 $6,663,850

$918,000

$301,700

* New Crime totals include penalties increased or decreased from a previously existing penalty.

@ The anticipated fiscal impact predicts costs to state agencies in only the fiscal year indicated and does not include ongoing costs or the
costs to county or local governments.

° Information regarding new fines or fees to offenders was not tracked in these years.
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